How to watch 2024 IIHF Ice Hockey Women’s World Championship From Anywhere

IIHF Women's World Championship

The 2024 IIHF Ice Hockey Women’s World Championship marks the 23rd iteration of this esteemed international ice hockey tournament organized by the International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF). Set to take place in Utica, New York, United States, the event will run from April 3rd to April 14th, 2024, hosted at the Adirondack Bank Center.

Last year, the Americans delivered a stunning upset against Canada in the 2023 final, clinching a 6–3 victory and securing their first title since 2019. Now, they aim to secure consecutive wins to reaffirm their dominance.

Throughout the 22 editions of the tournament, only three nations have reached the gold-medal match: Canada, boasting 12 world titles, the USA with 10, and Finland, earning a silver-medal finish once.

Given this history, it’s highly probable that the battle for the world championship title will once again unfold between these formidable teams. Additionally, with the inaugural season of the North American Professional Women’s Hockey League adding to the excitement this winter, interest in women’s ice hockey has reached unprecedented levels.

2024 IIHF Women’s Ice Hockey Championship Details

Date: April 3–14
Venue: Adirondack Bank Center
Location: Utica, New York
Network: NHL Network (USA), TSN (Canada)
Watch Online: Hocky Pass at PremiumTV anywhere!!

How to watch games from 2024 IIHF Ice Hockey Women’s World Championship

The whole event will be televised, with games available to watch live via broadcasting partners in specific territories.

In the United States, games will be on the NHL Network, while in Canada, they will be on TSN in English and RDS in French.

For hockey fans everywhere, Hockey Pass at PremiumTV can be a fantastic choice. For a daypass $9.99 and tournament pass one-time fee, you can watch IIHF Women’s Ice Hockey on HockeyPass at PremiumTV from any location in the globe.

Here’s list of deferent country streaming options

  • Canada – TSN/RDS
  • USA – NHL Network
  • Sweden – SVT
  • Finland – Discovery
  • Czechia – Czech TV
  • Germany – Magenta
  • Japan – TBS
  • Switzerland – Swiss TV

2024 Women’s Ice Hockey Groups and Format


IIHF Group A
  • Canada
  • Czechia (Czech Republic)
  • Finland
  • Switzerland
  • USA
IIHF Group B
  • China
  • Denmark
  • Germany
  • Japan
  • Sweden

The 10 participating teams are divided into two groups for the tournament, with Group A comprising the top five ranked teams and Group B consisting of the remaining five. Following round-robin matches where each team plays the other four in their group, the top five teams from Group A and the top three teams from Group B progress to the quarter-finals.

In Group A, Canada, Czechia, Finland, Switzerland, and USA will compete, while Group B features the People’s Republic of China, Denmark, Germany, Japan, and Sweden.

Quarter-final matchups will be determined by seeding, with the first-placed team from Group A facing the third-placed team from Group B, and so forth. Teams ranked fourth and fifth in Group A will also face each other again.

Reseeding for the semi-finals will occur based on group stage performances. Quarter-final losers will enter a placement bracket, with the winner of the fifth- /sixth-place playoff securing a spot in Group A for the 2025 World Championship.

In cases of tied scores at the end of regulation time (three periods of 20 minutes), sudden-death overtime will be implemented, lasting five minutes during the group stage. Teams will play three-on-three before proceeding to a best-of-five penalty-shot shootout.

The tournament employs a 3-2-1-0 points system, with three points awarded for a win in regulation, two points for an overtime or shootout win, one point for an overtime or shootout loss, and no points for a regulation loss. In the event of tied points, head-to-head records serve as the tiebreaker.

Overtime periods in the quarter-finals, semi-finals, and bronze-medal games span 10 minutes before proceeding to a shootout. However, in the gold-medal game, the overtime period extends to 20 minutes without a shootout, with multiple overtime periods played until a goal is scored.


All game times are in U.S. Eastern Daylight Time (EDT, UTC, -4 hours).

During the round-robin preliminary round, all matches will take place at the Adirondack Bank Center. Each day, only three games are scheduled, starting at 11:00 , 3:00 , and 7:00 EDT. The game schedule follows the order of start times.

Denmark vs SwedenApril 311 am ETGroup B
Czechia vs Finland3 pm ETGroup A
USA vs Switzerland7 pm ETGroup A
China vs JapanApril 411 am ETGroup B
Denmark vs Germany3 pm ETGroup B
Canada vs Finland7 pm ETGroup A
China vs SwedenApril 511 am ETGroup B
Canada vs Switzerland3 pm ETGroup A
Czechia vs USA7 pm ETGroup A
Germany vs JapanApril 63 pm ETGroup B
Finland vs USA7 pm ETGroup A
Japan vs SwedenApril 711 am ETGroup B
Canada vs Czechia3 pm ETGroup A
China vs Denmark7 pm ETGroup B
Germany vs SwedenApril 811 am ETGroup B
Finland vs Switzerland3 pm ETGroup A
Canada vs USA7 pm ETGroup A
China vs GermanyApril 911 am ETGroup B
Czechia vs Switzerland3 pm ETGroup A
Denmark vs Japan7 pm ETGroup B
TBAApril 1110 am ETQuarterfinals
TBA1.30 pm ETQuarterfinals
TBA5 pm ETQuarterfinals
TBA8.30 pm ETQuarterfinals
TBAApril 1311 am ETPlacement Game
TBA3 pm ETSemifinals
TBA7 pm ETSemifinals
TBAApril 141 pm ETBronze Game
TBA5 pm ETFinal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *